top of page
Search

Why I take transit

Riders took the time to tell us why use Calgary Transit. If you want to tell us your story, check out the poll and we may feature your story on our blog in the near future.


Calgary Transit is accessible, convenient, affordable, and connected for me personally and I will tell you why by Hilary.



CONNECTED


I can get the # 3 from our house to get downtown or go to the mall and get the #301 or the #300 (there are not some many stops as the #3).

All three routes still travel mostly down Centre Street. It takes me 5 minutes from our home to get to my local stop at Sandstone Terminal (and that is walking slowly), it is not big deal, its right there for me.

CONVENIENT

I like things that are convenient, I am a great believer in a community hub system… I have my bank, my doctor, my shopping, chiropractors, barbershops, and a hairdresser, everything is in one place, when I go shopping and doing chores, and coffee; Tim’s is on the way. It is convenient and connected all by the #3. During the pandemic, I get bored at home. I need to go for coffee more often to get me out of the house a bit. I am so looking forward to when things hopefully begin to reopen. I used to live in Edmonton, and Calgary transit is efficient, the buses are cleaner, people are more civil on transit.

For me, the Calgary Transit experience has been very good. Calgary Transit Drivers are politer and know how to drive a lot better; they are on time.


My wife and I are fortunate that we live close to the Sandstone Terminal, (end of the line from #3) and we can walk to the terminal. It is very convenient. We have a little bit of walking to do but nothing much and if we go to the Co-op mall, we walk even with my disability. I have no problem doing it as I hold on to my wife’s arm. I use the pass as its cheaper to get a pass than a ticket every day, (even though I go downtown once a month). I travel to my local mall by bus as we are carrying groceries. I do about 12 trips a month.

ACCESSIBLE

As for accessibility, I feel safe going to the front of the bus to get off the bus versus the back. It’s just a lot easier to get off the bus. Would I like the green line? Yes, much more convenient, however, this is what I got for now and this is what I do.


AFFORDABLE

For Example, tomorrow morning my wife and I are going to get our vaccine downtown. It is not much to go to Bow Valley Square and get the #3 going home, it is not unpleasant. We can leave at 10:30 am and our appointment is at 11:30 am, we can make it in plenty of time. I used to pay for tickets and sometimes I used to have to borrow tickets just to see my sister. I am grateful for the transit pass. The low-income transit pass (LITP) pays a little bit towards driver’s wages, fuel, and maintaining of our transit system. To pay $ 5 a month is not a big deal, now if it went up to $ 20 a month that is a different story.


22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page